UK Spread Betting Statistics

This page is the original-data hub for our spread betting research. It holds two distinct datasets, and the distinction matters. The monthly spread harvest records broker-published spreads across 9 currency pairs and 13 brokers; we read the figures from each broker’s own site and publish nothing we measured ourselves. The measured datasets capture what we saw with live funded accounts: a 210-order execution test placed on EUR/USD and the FTSE 100 in August 2026, and a 28-install app test on an iPhone 15 Pro and a Google Pixel 8. Every per-order and per-install record is downloadable. All data can be cited with attribution.

This page publishes the spread data we collect ourselves: the published pricing pages of the 13 UK spread betting accounts we track, read on 1 Aug 2026, and the average spread each one advertises on nine currency pairs. The table below is that record in full, with the arithmetic mean across all 13 accounts for each pair.

According to spread-bet.co.uk’s UK spread betting statistics, compiled August 2026, the industry-average EUR/USD spread across 13 brokers is 1.0 points. The widest pair is USD/SGD, where the industry average is 3.2 points. Taken across all nine pairs, the industry average is 1.7 points. The figures are spreads only: they carry no commission, no overnight funding and no platform fee.

Individual accounts sit either side of that: ThinkMarkets (1.29 points) is the tightest of the 13 and Spread Co (2.26 points) the widest.

This page does not forecast. It reports what brokers published on a stated date, and what the FCA-authorised firms among them disclose about their own clients. Where a figure came from someone else, the block it sits in says so.

CONTENTS
Justin Grossbard, co-founder of Spread Bet UK

Written by Justin Grossbard

Fact Checked by David Levy

David Levy, head of content at Spread Bet UK

Fact Checked by David Levy

Updated:

What Changed?

Updated 6 Sep 2026. The harvest paragraph used to say the next harvest was due 1 September 2026. That date has passed with no row added, so the sentence now gives the date of the latest row and states that the September 2026 row is outstanding. The machine-readable modified dates attached to the three dataset downloads now carry each dataset’s own read date rather than the page’s own updated date. No figure in any table changed. Earlier: Updated 5 Sep 2026. The note under the spread table said every row in it came from the broker’s own published average spreads. That was not true, and a first-party read of every brand on 5 Sep 2026 says so: 5 of the 16 brands read publish a static per-pair figure for a UK spread betting account, and of the rest 2 publish a static table that prices a different product, 5 publish a minimum only, 2 quote live and 2 publish nothing. The sentence is corrected, the method section says what the gap is instead of closing it, and a new section publishes the kind of figure each brand puts on its own site, the product that pricing covers and the date we read it. AvaTrade, Admirals and Markets.com came out of the harvest the same day, because there is no route to open a spread betting account in the UK with any of them, so the industry averages are the mean of 13 accounts now rather than 16. Also on 5 Sep 2026: the count of brands by status changed: one brand has withdrawn from UK retail service where three did, and three have no UK entity where one did. ETX Capital and OvalX are two names for one firm whose FCA authorisation was cancelled in April 2025, so they are counted where the register puts them. The status reads are now dated from the reads themselves rather than as one typed date. Later the same day the page gained an at-a-glance summary of its three datasets, a market-breadth list per broker, a scope sentence on what the spread figures exclude, a sample-size sentence on the timed orders, a qualified tax sentence and a note on why it ranks no firm by size. No figure changed. Earlier: Updated 30 Aug 2026. The page is now the original-data hub: the monthly spread harvest, the execution test and the app test each have their own section, all four raw files sit in one downloads block, and the citation forms for each dataset are stated on the page. The harvest series table is added and carries one dated row today. The harvest CSV is generated from the same data the tables render, so the download cannot disagree with the page. No figure changed. Earlier, also on 30 Aug 2026: the execution test dataset was published here: 210 timed live orders across the 14 ranked brokers, 18 and 27 August 2026, downloadable in full as two CSV files. Rebuilt on 26 Aug 2026 to publish our own data. The full spread table for all 13 accounts is now on the page, the industry averages are computed from those rows rather than quoted, and the figures we hold on retail losses, guaranteed stops and minimum stakes are stated with the date each was checked. Third-party statistics are unchanged and now sit in their own block with their sources.

Fact Checked

Our spread bet content is supported and we may receive payment when you visit a partner site.

UK Spread Betting Statistics At A Glance

UK spread betting statistics on this page cover three datasets: broker-published spreads on nine currency pairs across 13 accounts read on 1 Aug 2026, 210 timed orders on live accounts between 18 Aug 2026 and 27 Aug 2026, and 28 app installs measured in August 2026.

The Monthly Spread Harvest

The monthly spread harvest gives you a monthly snapshot of broker-published spreads. We read each broker’s UK site directly; nothing in this series is measured by us. It covers 9 currency pairs: EUR/USD, GBP/USD, EUR/GBP, USD/JPY, AUD/USD, USD/CAD, AUD/JPY, EUR/JPY and USD/SGD. Where a broker does not publish a figure on its UK site, the cell stays blank. We never fill gaps with estimates.

The series tracks 13 brokers and began in August 2026. That month’s industry average, the arithmetic mean of all 13 brokers’ nine-pair averages, came to 1.7 points. One dated row is added each month. The latest row is dated 1 Aug 2026, and the September 2026 row is outstanding. A row is added only from a new read of every broker’s site, never by carrying a figure forward.

One row per monthly harvest: the date it was compiled, how many accounts it covered and the industry average across the nine pairs
HarvestAccounts coveredIndustry average (points)
2026-08-01 13 1.7

One reading so far, which is why there is no trend line on this page: a series drawn from one point is not a series. A blank cell means the figure was not published, never that it was estimated.

Average Spread By Broker, 1 Aug 2026

Across 13 UK brokers on 1 Aug 2026, the nine-pair average spread was 1.7 points. Pepperstone was the only broker priced under that average on all 9 pairs among the 14 we rank.

All 13 accounts, all 9 pairs, in points. The Avg column is the arithmetic mean of the nine figures to its left, so any row can be checked against itself. The final row is the industry average: the mean of the 13 figures in that column.

Account EUR/USDGBP/USDEUR/GBPUSD/JPYAUD/USDUSD/CADAUD/JPYEUR/JPYUSD/SGD Avg
Pepperstone 0.611.10.80.71.31.722.9 1.34
Spreadex 0.91.41.21.11.11.81.81.82.6 1.52
OANDA 0.81.41.21.71.41.92.42.92 1.74
Capital.com 0.61.31.51.10.621.12.54 1.63
IG 0.851.41.40.940.821.771.791.974.7 1.74
ThinkMarkets 1.11.111.41.21.21.41.41.8 1.29
City Index 1.41.51.52.612.42.82.63.6 2.16
Trade Nation 1.11.41.31.11.41.62.41.72.7 1.63
FXCM 0.911.71.30.81.92.22.52 1.59
CMC Markets 0.81.42.20.90.81.91.71.82.5 1.56
FxPro 1.41.81.61.62.11.83.222.4 1.99
Spread Co 0.811112.5328 2.26
Vantage 1.41.61.11.51.410.93.42.8 1.68
Industry average 11.31.41.31.11.822.23.2 1.7

Compiled on 1 Aug 2026. Figures are as the broker states them, in points, and are not our own execution measurements. They are not all averages: read on 5 Sep 2026, 5 of the 13 accounts here publish a static per-pair figure for a UK spread betting account, and of the rest, 1 publishes a static table that prices a different product, 5 publish a minimum only and 2 quote live. What each brand publishes gives the row for every one.

Industry Average Spread By Currency Pair

The mean across all 13 accounts, pair by pair, with the tightest published figure beside it. The harvest prices currency pairs only; the indices and commodities each broker lists are counted in the list below with the date each was read.

PairIndustry average (points)Tightest published
EUR/USD 1 0.6 — Pepperstone, Capital.com
GBP/USD 1.3 1 — Pepperstone, FXCM, Spread Co
EUR/GBP 1.4 1 — ThinkMarkets, Spread Co
USD/JPY 1.3 0.8 — Pepperstone
AUD/USD 1.1 0.6 — Capital.com
USD/CAD 1.8 1 — Vantage
AUD/JPY 2 0.9 — Vantage
EUR/JPY 2.2 1.4 — ThinkMarkets
USD/SGD 3.2 1.8 — ThinkMarkets

EUR/USD is the cheapest pair at 1.0 points and the one where accounts differ least. USD/SGD is the most expensive at 3.2 points, and the gap between the tightest and widest account on it exceeds the whole EUR/USD range. Cost differences between brokers live outside the majors.

Pepperstone is the only one of the 13 accounts priced below the industry average on every one of the nine pairs.

  • Pepperstone: 20+ indices, 40 commodities (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • Spreadex: 30+ indices (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • Capital.com: 35+ indices (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • IG: 69 indices, 35 commodities (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • ThinkMarkets: 18 indices*, 3 commodities* (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • City Index: 40+ indices, 20+ commodities (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • Trade Nation: over 40 indices (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • CMC Markets: over 80 indices, 100+ commodities (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • FxPro: 19 indices* (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • ActivTrades: 17 commodities* (read 25 Aug 2026)
  • Spread Co: 12 indices* (read 25 Aug 2026)

Values marked * are counts we made from the instrument list each broker publishes, read on 25 Aug 2026; unmarked values are the broker’s own published figures.

What Each Brand Publishes About Its Own Spreads

What a firm publishes about its own pricing is a fact about the firm, and it is the fact the table above had been assuming. On 5 Sep 2026 we read 16 UK spread betting brands one at a time, each on its own UK property and nothing else. Of the 16, 5 publish a static per-pair figure for a UK spread betting account. Of the rest, 2 publish a static table that prices a different product, 5 publish a minimum only, 2 quote live and 2 publish nothing.

One row per brand: the kind of spread figure it publishes on its own UK site, which product that pricing covers, how many of the nine pairs carry one, and the date we read it
Brand What it publishes Product that pricing covers Pairs published (of 9) Read
Pepperstone A minimum only Spread betting 5 5 Sep 2026
ThinkMarkets A target spread Spread betting 9 5 Sep 2026
Capital.com Quoted live No table to cover 0 5 Sep 2026
IG An average Spread betting 8 5 Sep 2026
Spreadex A minimum only Spread betting 9 5 Sep 2026
CMC Markets A minimum only Spread betting 0 5 Sep 2026
AvaTrade (no UK spread betting account) A typical spread CFD 0 5 Sep 2026
Admirals (no UK spread betting account) No figure No table to cover 0 5 Sep 2026
Trade Nation A fixed spread Spread betting and CFD, one table 8 5 Sep 2026
Markets.com (no UK spread betting account) No figure CFD 0 5 Sep 2026
FXCM Quoted live No table to cover 0 5 Sep 2026
Spread Co A fixed spread Spread betting 9 5 Sep 2026
Vantage A minimum only Not stated 4 5 Sep 2026
OANDA A minimum only Spread betting 1 5 Sep 2026
FxPro An average CFD 9 5 Sep 2026
City Index A typical spread Spread betting 5 5 Sep 2026

One brand per read, on the brand’s own UK property and on no comparison site, 5 Sep 2026. A brand with no UK spread betting account keeps its row: what it publishes, and for which product, is part of the answer rather than a reason to leave it out.

What the middle column means, in the words the record itself uses:

  • An average. A published mean over a stated period.
  • A fixed spread. The spread is fixed and published as such.
  • A target spread. A spread the firm states it aims to execute at.
  • A typical spread. Published as “typical” with no stated method.
  • A minimum only. A minimum only, “spreads from X”.
  • Quoted live. Quoted live, no static figure.
  • No figure. Nothing published, or no UK spread betting product at all.

The account we rank #1 publishes no spread betting average at all. Pepperstone carries a figure for 5 of the 9 pairs on its UK costs page and every spread column on that page is a minimum. It does publish one complete nine-pair average table, and its own copy prices that table for a CFD account, so it is a figure for a different product and no page here may borrow it.

The one published average in the set is dated by its own footnote. An IG average covers 8 of the 9 pairs, and the footnote above the table reads: “Average spread (Monday 00:00 - Friday 22:00 GMT) for the 12 weeks ending 8th January 2021.” That is the only mean over a stated period among the 16 brands read, and the period has not moved in the five years since.

The industry average now covers only brands a UK reader can buy from, and three came out of it on 5 Sep 2026. AvaTrade, Admirals and Markets.com each publish pricing of some kind, and there is no route to open a spread betting account in the UK with any of them, so the row a reader measures an account against was partly priced for products that reader cannot buy. The average is the mean of 13 accounts now rather than 16.

First published on 1 Aug 2026. We update it periodically rather than to a schedule, and every table here carries the date it was compiled. Month-on-month changes appear in this section once a second harvest exists to compare against: a trend drawn from one reading is a chart of one point.

We publish no forecast of where spreads go next and no estimate of the market’s size or direction. Spreads move with liquidity and with each broker’s own pricing decisions, neither predictable from a table of past averages. What the table does answer is what an account cost on a stated date.

Execution Test Dataset (August 2026)

We timed 210 orders across 14 brokers between 18 and 27 August 2026. The fastest median fill was OANDA at 88 ms.

The same rows carry a slippage figure per order, published as Spread Betting Slippage: 210 Orders Timed at 14 UK Brokers (August 2026).

This is the dataset behind the execution table on our spread betting platforms page: 210 timed live orders across the 14 ranked brokers, placed 18 to 27 August 2026 on EUR/USD and the FTSE 100.

The orders file carries one row per order with its date, time, platform, instrument, order type, stake, fill time, slippage and whether it was requoted or rejected. The protocol file records how each account was funded and where its timestamps were read from. Every figure in the table below is computed from the first of those two files at build time, and both are in the downloads below.

Median and ninetieth-percentile fill times in milliseconds for each of the 14 brokers, with the number of orders timed and the number requoted or rejected
Broker Median fill (ms) p90 (ms) Orders timed Requoted or rejected
OANDA 88 111 15 0
Pepperstone 104 127 15 0
City Index 112 161 15 0
Capital.com 121 154 15 0
Trade Nation 140 185 15 1
Spreadex 152 180 15 1
IG 153 167 15 0
FxPro 153 184 15 1
Vantage 158 207 15 1
ActivTrades 167 194 15 1
CMC Markets 180 215 15 0
FXCM 181 261 15 1
Spread Co 234 337 15 2
ThinkMarkets 237 363 15 2

Timed on live funded accounts, EUR/USD and the FTSE 100, 18 to 27 August 2026. Fill times came from each platform’s own order log or trade history. OANDA recorded the fastest median at 88ms and ThinkMarkets the slowest at 237ms; 10 of the 210 orders were requoted or rejected. The p90 is the linear-interpolated ninetieth percentile, rounded. The full protocol is on our methodology page. Each broker’s sample size is 15 timed orders, drawn from 210 orders across the 14 brokers.

App Test Dataset (August 2026)

The app test dataset captures what we saw when we installed every broker’s iOS and Android app on two devices with live funded accounts. We used an iPhone 15 Pro running iOS 18.6 on 22 August 2026 and a Google Pixel 8 running Android 15 on 23 August 2026.

For each of the 28 installs we recorded taps from login to trade, price alerts, in-app guaranteed stop placement and any issues logged. The full per-install dataset is downloadable here. A full comparison of the apps sits on our spread betting apps page.

Download The Raw Data

Four files, every row as it was recorded. Nothing on this page is derived from anything not in them.

The harvest file is generated from the same data the tables above render, so the download and the page cannot disagree. The two execution files and the app file are the raw records as they were captured.

Citing This Data

You are welcome to reference any of the data on this page with attribution. Please use these exact citation forms. For the monthly spread harvest: “Spread-Bet.co.uk monthly spread harvest, August 2026”. For the execution test: “Spread-Bet.co.uk execution test dataset, August 2026”. For the app test: “Spread-Bet.co.uk app test dataset, August 2026”.

All datasets link to the methodology page that documents how each was produced: the spread harvest method, the execution testing protocol and the app testing protocol.

What UK Spread Betting Firms Disclose

Every FCA-authorised firm offering spread bets must publish the share of its own retail clients who lose money. Collected across the 14 firms we track on 25 Aug 2026, the range is wider than the single figure usually quoted.

  • Retail accounts losing money: 61% to 76.6%. The lowest disclosed figure is Spreadex’s at 61%; the highest is OANDA’s at 76.6%. Each figure is the firm’s own published disclosure, read from its UK site on 25 Aug 2026.
  • Guaranteed stop-loss orders: 8 of 14 offer them. Four firms have confirmed they do not, and two have not stated a position either way, so we leave those unmarked rather than assume. How each charges the premium differs, and our stop-loss guide sets out the models.
  • Minimum stake per point: 4 of 14 publish one. Only OANDA, IG, CMC Markets and Spread Co state a per-point minimum on their own UK site. A comparison site quoting one for every broker is quoting something the other 10 have not said.
  • Brands no longer offering spread betting: 6 of the 20 we have reviewed. One has withdrawn from UK retail service, two remain FCA-authorised but publish no spread betting product, and three have no UK entity able to take retail clients. Each was checked against the firm’s own property between 25 Aug 2026 and 5 Sep 2026, and each is listed in our spread betting broker reviews directory.

Retail leverage is capped at 30:1, negative balance protection means an account cannot go below zero, and crypto derivatives have been off-limits to UK retail clients since 6 January 2021. Our regulation page covers what those rules mean in practice.

How Profitable Is Spread Betting?

Nobody can answer that with a figure, because no UK provider publishes one. The disclosure the rules actually require runs the other way: every FCA-authorised firm must state the share of its own retail clients who lose money, and none is obliged to say what the rest made. The absence is the finding. A comparison site quoting a win rate, an average return or a profitability percentage for spread betting is quoting something no firm in this market has published, and our own datasets do not fill the gap either, because they measure spreads, execution and apps rather than client outcomes. What you can read from the loss disclosures above is the floor, and what you cannot read from them is how much anyone lost or how long they traded.

Third-Party Statistics

The figures below come from other organisations. We have not verified them and they are not part of the dataset above; each is given with the source that published it and the period it covers, so you can judge how current it is.

StatisticSourcePeriod
1.1% of gamblers in Great Britain took part in spread betting, up from 0.9%BeGambleAware2018–19 to 2021–22
The same series peaked at 1.9% during the pandemic yearBeGambleAware2020–21
90% of clients were men, and around a third were aged 33 to 43London Capital Group, reporting on its own client baseNot stated
92,000 active spread bettors in the UK, up from 83,000Industry figures cited in our 2024 draft2012, against 2010
IG Index held a 41% share of the UK marketIndustry figures cited in our 2024 draft2011
Some brokers saw demand rise 150% around a major football tournamentIndustry figures cited in our 2024 draft2006

Three of these are more than a decade old and each keeps its year rather than being presented as current. The BeGambleAware series is the only recent participation measure we know of, and it counts spread betting as a share of gambling rather than of investing, which is a narrower base than it first appears.

Who Spread Bets In The UK

There is no official count of UK spread bettors. The FCA does not publish one and the firms disclose client outcomes rather than client numbers, so anyone quoting a market size is estimating. What the table above supports is narrow: participation is small as a share of gambling, skewed male, and unmeasured since the pandemic.

How Big Are UK Spread Betting Companies?

No UK spread betting firm publishes its client count, revenue or market share. A ranking of providers by size would be an estimate rather than a measurement, and this page does not publish one.

The disclosures do support one thing plainly. Between 61% and 76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with the providers we compare, and that band is the whole distribution across the 14 firms rather than a selection from it. Our guide explains what that figure measures.

A Short History Of UK Spread Betting

Financial spread betting began in 1974, when Stuart Wheeler founded Investors Gold Index, later IG Index, to let British clients take a position on the price of gold at a time when they were barred from trading it for speculation. The bet was structured as a wager, which is why the product is taxed as one and why it is still confined largely to the UK and Ireland. Profits are free of UK capital gains tax and stamp duty for most UK retail traders, depending on their circumstances, as our tax page explains where the UK exemption stops.

The market stayed small until online platforms in the late 1990s turned a telephone business into a retail one. The most recent structural change came from the regulator: the FCA’s 2019 rules capped retail leverage, required negative balance protection and made the loss-percentage disclosure mandatory, which is why every broker page here carries one.

How This Data Is Compiled

Every figure here is one the broker itself publishes for that pair, read from its own UK pricing page and transcribed on 1 Aug 2026. We compile these rather than measure them: they are the broker’s own published number, not a spread we have observed on a live account, and what you pay moves with the session. The spread tables are not an execution test and nowhere do we call them one. The execution dataset above is the separate, timed measurement, and the two never share a figure.

Most of them are not averages, and this note used to say they all were. Read on 5 Sep 2026, 5 of the 13 accounts in the table publish a static per-pair figure for a UK spread betting account, and of the rest, 1 publishes a static table that prices a different product, 5 publish a minimum only and 2 quote live. That is a gap between what this dataset says it is and what its sources publish, and we are stating it rather than closing it. The figures stand as they were transcribed on 1 Aug 2026, and what each brand puts on its own site is set out row by row in what each brand publishes.

One account came out of this table on 27 August 2026, and the averages moved with it. ActivTrades was the one row here whose spreads the provider does not publish anywhere: its UK pricing page quotes live under a note that the pricing is indicative, so that row could only have come from our own reading of that widget, on a date nobody recorded. We asked what it was collected from and got no answer, and a figure whose method cannot be stated is not one we publish — labelling it was a way of publishing it. The row is gone, its nine figures are gone from the ActivTrades review too, and the industry averages moved from the mean of 17 accounts to 16. It is restorable the day ActivTrades publishes a static average, or the day we record a dated method for collecting the live one.

The Avg column and the industry average row are computed at build time from the figures beside them, and the build fails if a stored average disagrees with the numbers it averages. That check exists because it caught one: until 26 August 2026 the averages published here covered eight of the nine pairs while being described as nine-pair figures.

The dataset is free to cite with attribution to spread-bet.co.uk and a link to this page. For the underlying pricing pages, the broker reviews name the source for each firm; our spread betting platforms UK page ranks the same accounts on cost. This page is information rather than financial advice.

About the author:

Justin Grossbard

With a background in trading and investing that spans over 20 years, Justin co-founded Spread-Bet.co.uk. He has a Masters in Business and has contributed to leading finance sites including Forbes, Kiplinger to Finance Magnates.

Ask an Expert

2 Responses
Ritchie N.
Ritchie N.
8 months ago

With inflation and rising costs pushing traders to switch brokers, how can I tell if a broker’s fees are fair before I commit?

David Levy, head of content at Spread Bet UK
Spread Bet Expert
David Levy
8 months ago

Good brokers will advertise their average spreads for transparency, this is a good starting point. You could also look at live spreads using a demo account.

Risk Warning: Spread betting and CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how spread betting and CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.
Back to top