OANDA runs a spread betting sub-account you can open today, and it sits high in our ranking on almost everything except what it charges. The spreads we harvest each month put it in the middle of the field. This review is mostly about how both of those are true at once.
🗺️ FCA regulated: OANDA Europe Limited (FRN 542574), checked 25 Aug 2026
Updated 5 Sep 2026. A section inviting readers who have traded with OANDA to tell us what a new customer should know now sits before the FAQ: a rating, how long they have traded, the markets, one thing to know, and their consent. Submissions are read by the team, only reviews we can verify are ever published, and none are published yet; nothing entered there appears on this page. No figure changed. Earlier: Updated 3 Sep 2026. Three changes on the day. First, a cost band now opens the page: what a spread bet costs at your stake and bet count against the industry average, computed from the same harvest as the spread table further down. Second, the FCA register entry for the authorised firm was re-read and captured, and the capture sits under the section on who you contract with, beside the licence list; the rail’s section list was cut to the sections readers use. Third, the page moved onto the new review layout: a head-to-head against the two accounts either side of it in our ranking, a dated testing log built from the August datasets, a licence list, a per-bet cost tool on the spread table, and a section carrying the third-party ratings read from the platforms themselves, each with the date it was captured. No spread figure, score or rank changed. Earlier: Updated 2 Sep 2026. The inactivity fee row now states what OANDA publishes: a monthly charge after 12 months without a trade, not charged while a position is open, with the amount marked as not published because OANDA’s charges page does not state it. OANDA’s help centre and its charges page give two different per-client caps, so no cap figure is shown until they agree. No spread figure, score or rank changed. Updated 30 Aug 2026. Three dated service tests were added: a support question timed to first response, an account opening timed to approval, and a withdrawal with its fee and arrival. Both store builds of the app were driven on an iPhone and a Pixel and the findings are on the page. The sentence saying we have published no assessment of how these platforms perform is retired, because the app test now measures part of what it disclaimed. The timed execution figure was already here and has not changed. No spread figure, score or rank changed.
Our spread bet content is supported and we may receive payment when you visit a partner site.
Minimum deposit£0
PlatformsMetaTrader 4, TradingView, OANDA Trade
Avg spread, 9 pairs1.74 pts industry 1.7
Spread data1 Aug 2026
What Does A OANDA Spread Bet Cost?
Our Verdict On OANDA
OANDA scores 91/100 and ranks 3 of 14 because its nine-pair average is 1.74 points against a 1.7-point industry row. It prices above that average on six of the nine, so what you trade decides the saving.
How We Scored OANDA
Our overall score for OANDA is 91 out of 100. Below is the assessment behind it: OANDA marked on each of the criteria we score every account against, each one out of 10.
Criterion
OANDA
Trading Cost
4 / 10
Trading Experience
9 / 10
Trading Platform
8 / 10
Trust
10 / 10
Range Of Markets
8 / 10
Customer Service
9 / 10
These marks do not add up to the score above, and they are not meant to.The criteria are weighted rather than totalled. We tested whether any set of weights reproduces our published scores from these marks alone, and none does. The table tells you the shape of the assessment rather than its arithmetic. The one figure on this page you can rebuild yourself is the spread average, from the nine rows in the cost table.
The same six criteria are scored on every account we rank, so a mark here means the same thing as the mark on any other review. Our account scoring method sets out what each criterion covers, where the data behind it comes from, and which parts of an account we assess rather than test.
For OANDA specifically, the strongest mark is Trust and the weakest is Trading Cost. That gap is the useful part of the table. Two accounts on the same overall score can be strong in completely different places. The one that suits you is the one scoring well on what you care about.
Why The Ranking And The Spreads Disagree
The table above is the answer, and it is worth reading before the cost table below it. Cost is the criterion OANDA scores lowest on. Everything else carries it, and our overall score weights everything else more heavily than one input.
What that means for you is direct. If you are choosing purely on the price of a trade, OANDA is not the cheapest account we cover and the cost table will show you that pair by pair. If you are choosing on the whole account, our score is the summary and the criteria above are what is in it.
Who You Are Actually Contracting With
Spread bets at OANDA are placed with OANDA Europe Limited (FRN 542574). That is the firm named in your account terms and the one authorised to take UK retail clients.
OANDA is an old and unusually international business, and the international part is the thing to be careful about. It runs separate companies under separate regulators in several countries, and material published by one of them is not a statement about the UK firm. That is not a criticism, it is a reading instruction, and it is the reason this page cites OANDA’s UK pages rather than the global ones wherever the two differ.
Most brands on our spread betting broker reviews directory run the product through a general-purpose entity, and OANDA is one of them. The directory lists every brand we cover, including the ones with no UK spread betting account to open.
The same care applies to the account itself. Spread betting at OANDA is a sub-account you add rather than the default account you open. An OANDA client is therefore not automatically a spread bettor, and an OANDA page about trading is not automatically about spread betting.
Client money at an FCA-authorised firm is held separately from the firm’s own, and negative balance protection applies to retail accounts. The FSCS and the Financial Ombudsman Service are open to you. That is a floor every broker in our ranking clears rather than a reason to choose this one. Our guide to FCA regulation of spread betting covers the brands where a register search returns a company you were not looking for.
OANDA On The FCA Register
OANDA Europe Limited is on the Financial Services Register under firm reference number 542574, and its status panel reads Authorised, since 17 May 2011. We read the entry on 3 Sep 2026, and the capture below is what the register showed that day.
OANDA Europe Limited, FRN 542574, on the FCA Financial Services Register: status Authorised, since 17 May 2011. Captured 3 Sep 2026. Source: the firm’s register entry, Financial Conduct Authority.
The capture is the firm details and firm status panels of the entry as the register served them on that date, and the link opens the live entry. The permissions panel is not in it, so this page makes no claim about which regulated activities the authorisation covers. Our regulation guide sets out how to verify a firm on the FCA register.
OANDA Licence And Terms
Regulator
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
Authorised entity
OANDA Europe Limited (FRN 542574)
Register status
Authorised
Authorised since
17 May 2011
Register read
3 Sep 2026
Minimum deposit
£0
Guaranteed stops
Offered
Every row is a value read off the FCA register or OANDA’s own UK site, with the date of the read held in our broker data. A term OANDA does not publish has no row.
OANDA Spread Betting Costs
OANDA prices below the industry average on three of the nine pairs and above it on six. Its nine-pair average of 1.74 points sits over the 1.7-point industry row.
OANDA publishes its own floor separately: from 0.6 pips. A floor is the best price on the best pair at the best moment, which is a different claim from the averages above. We publish it in OANDA’s own unit rather than converting it. Source: OANDA’s own UK spread betting page, read 25 Aug 2026.
Guaranteed Stops At OANDA
Guaranteed stop-loss orders are available at OANDA. A guaranteed stop closes your trade at the level you set even when the market gaps straight through it. An ordinary stop cannot promise that, and every provider charges a premium for the difference.
We have not confirmed how OANDA charges the premium. It may be taken when the order is placed, or only when the order fires, and that difference decides what the protection costs across a year of trades. We would rather leave it unstated than guess it.
OANDA runs its own software alongside third-party platforms, and the list on our summary table is the set we have confirmed carries the spread betting sub-account. That is a narrower question than what OANDA offers across all its products, and on this broker the distinction is a real one rather than a technicality.
OANDA recorded the fastest median fill in our timed testing, 88ms across 15 live orders placed between 18 and 27 August 2026. Fill speed is the one exception, and it is measured: a claim about execution speed or app responsiveness needs a dated test with a recorded device and method behind it, and we now publish one for fill speed, timed on live funded accounts and released with its raw rows.
Our app test counts rather than times. It records the taps from a cold launch to a placed order, whether price alerts fire, and whether a guaranteed stop can be placed in the app. We drove both store builds on 22 and 23 August 2026, using an iPhone 15 Pro running iOS 18.6 and a Google Pixel 8 running Android 15. It measures no speed, so no app here carries a responsiveness verdict.
On OANDA it took four taps to get from a cold launch to a placed order. Price alerts fired on both builds, and a guaranteed stop can be placed in the app itself. Neither build logged a crash or a stall.
OANDA replied to an email on 24 August 2026 in 214 minutes and resolved the query. The account opened on 11 August 2026 and was approved in 5 hours. A withdrawal on 27 August 2026 cost £0 and arrived the next working day.
OANDA resolved the question on that contact. All three tests ran on the same live funded account we opened ourselves, and the withdrawal came out of it.
OANDA Versus Spreadex And Capital.com
The two accounts either side of OANDA in our ranking, on figures every review on this site renders from the same data. OANDA takes the first column. Spreads are from the August 2026 harvest, the fill time from the timed execution dataset, and the rest from each account’s own published terms.
A row where two accounts show the same figure is a tie on that measure, not on the account. The score is set on the criteria we publish, and the table above shows where the difference between these accounts actually sits.
OANDA Testing Log
Every dated test we ran on this account and every dated read behind the figures on this page, oldest first, from the datasets those figures are rendered from. The log is the evidence trail rather than a summary of it.
Date
What we did and what we found
Published spreads on the nine pairs read from OANDA's own site for the monthly harvest. Nine-pair average 1.74 points against the 1.7-point industry row.
Account opened. Approved in 5 hours.
Both store builds driven on an iPhone 15 Pro running iOS 18.6 and a Google Pixel 8 running Android 15: four taps from a cold launch to a placed order, and price alerts fired on both builds.
Support contacted by email. Resolved in 214 minutes.
Criterion scores read from our master scoring sheet.
Withdrawal requested. Fee £0; the money arrived the next working day.
15 live orders timed between 18 and 27 August 2026. Median fill 88ms, fastest of the fourteen accounts we timed.
OANDA was the 3rd most searched of the 14 platforms we review in July 2026, on 22,460 branded Google searches from the UK, behind Spreadex. Search interest measures attention, not quality; the score above is the review verdict.
3of 14Search interest rank
22,460
Brand searches, July 2026
-0.3%
vs June 2026
320
Login searches
17.5%
Share of all searches
Source: Google search volume, the UK, July 2026.
How this is measured
Google Ads reports how many times a month people in the UK searched each platform’s brand terms, and the platforms are ranked on that figure alone.
A term counts for a platform only when that platform’s own website holds the first organic Google result for it in the UK; bare brand words that any company could own are left out.
A month-on-month change prints only where the previous month reached 1,000 searches, because Google rounds smaller volumes.
The figures refresh on the 15th of each month with the newest month Google has published, and the first-result check repeats every quarter.
These are OANDA’s ratings on the platforms below, each read on the date shown and stated in that platform’s own scale. They are other people’s ratings, gathered on those sites’ own terms, and we publish them so you can weigh them against ours.
OANDA’s Trustpilot profile, captured 3 Sep 2026. We recapture these monthly, so the figure in the table is the one the platform showed on that date rather than a number typed in once and left to age.OANDA’s Apple App Store listing, captured 3 Sep 2026. We recapture these monthly, so the figure in the table is the one the platform showed on that date rather than a number typed in once and left to age.OANDA’s Google Play listing, captured 3 Sep 2026. We recapture these monthly, so the figure in the table is the one the platform showed on that date rather than a number typed in once and left to age.OANDA’s TradingView profile, captured 3 Sep 2026. We recapture these monthly, so the figure in the table is the one the platform showed on that date rather than a number typed in once and left to age.
Our own score is set on the six criteria we publish and is not influenced by any third-party rating. A high rating on a review platform and a low mark here can both be true of the same account, because they measure different things.
OANDA At A Glance
Every row below is a value we read on OANDA’s own UK site or hold in our broker data with a source and a date beside it. An attribute OANDA does not publish has no row here, because the alternative is a number we would be guessing.
🗺️ FCA regulated
OANDA Europe Limited (FRN 542574)
💰 Minimum deposit
£0
💷 Minimum stake
£0.01 per point
📊 Spread bet platforms
MetaTrader 4, TradingView, OANDA Trade
🛍️ Markets available
over 100
💱 Inactivity fee
monthly charge after 12 months without a trade; not charged while a position is open (amount not published)
🛡️ Guaranteed stops
Available
What You Can Bet On
OANDA publishes these counts on its own market pages. They are the figures it states rather than counts we made, and each one covers the market it names.
Forex pairs: over 65
OANDA Pros And Cons
Pros
EUR/USD at 0.8 points against a 1-point average
No minimum deposit
Guaranteed stop-loss orders available
Cons
Above the industry average on six of nine pairs
Demo account terms not confirmed
Inactivity fee not confirmed
Each line is a field in our broker data with a source and a date behind it, not an impression. Where OANDA does not publish an attribute, that absence is listed as a cost rather than left blank.
Your Experience With OANDA
If you have traded with OANDA, tell us what a new customer should know. Submissions are read by the team. Only reviews we can verify are ever published, and none are published yet. Nothing you enter here appears on this page.
We are paid when a reader visits a partner site. Reviews are never paid for and never edited for a broker.
OANDA Spread Betting: FAQs
Which company do you contract with when you spread bet at OANDA?
Spread bets at OANDA are placed with OANDA Europe Limited (FRN 542574). That is the entity named in your account terms and the one authorised to take UK retail clients. OANDA operates other companies in other countries, and those are separate firms under separate regulators, so the UK entity is the one that matters to a UK reader.
Does OANDA have a separate spread betting account?
Yes, and it is a sub-account rather than a different login. OANDA describes spread betting as an account you add alongside its other trading accounts, so a client can hold both and they are not the same account. That distinction matters for tax, because the spread betting sub-account is the one with the UK tax treatment attached to it.
Does OANDA offer guaranteed stop-loss orders on spread betting?
Yes. OANDA states on its own spread betting page that it offers both ordinary stop-loss orders and guaranteed ones. What it does not state on that page is when the premium is charged, so we do not publish a charging model for the spread betting account. A guaranteed stop closes your trade at the level you set even when the market gaps through it, which an ordinary stop cannot promise.
Are OANDA spread betting profits tax-free in the UK?
For most UK individuals, spread betting profits are free of Capital Gains Tax and the bets carry no Stamp Duty. That position applies at every FCA-authorised spread betting provider rather than being specific to OANDA. Tax treatment depends on your individual circumstances and can change, so you should seek professional tax advice if you are unsure.
Opening An OANDA Spread Betting Account
OANDA suits a reader who wants a well-rounded account and is not choosing on price alone. It suits you less if cost is the thing you are optimising. The cost table above is the weakest part of this page, and we would rather you saw that before you opened anything.
Read the pros and cons above rather than the score alone. Spread betting is leveraged, and losing more than you intended to risk is the ordinary outcome for most people who try it.
76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
Your capital is at risk. Spread betting is leveraged, so losses can exceed the amount you set out to risk on a bet. This page is not financial or tax advice.
Justin Grossbard co-founded Spread-Bet.co.uk with Noam Korbl in 2024, and co-founded the broker comparison network CompareForexBrokers with him in 2014. He has been investing since 1998 and actively trading since 2014, and has written on forex and CFD trading for Kiplinger, Entrepreneur, Finance Magnates and MoneyShow since 2019.
91
OANDA76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.