Financial spread betting is a leveraged bet on the price of financial markets, staked in pounds per point. Pepperstone ranks as the best spread betting platform in the UK, 97/100 in our ranking, the only broker publishing averages on all nine pairs we read. We timed 210 orders at 14 FCA-regulated spread betting brokers between 18 and 27 August 2026. Before depositing, check the firm name and FRN on the FCA register, for example Pepperstone Limited, FRN 684312.
Spread betting is leveraged, and between 61% and 76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money across the 14 brokers we compare. What that figure does and does not mean.
Our spread bet content is supported by broker partners, who pay us on a retainer basis rather than per referral.
14 UK Brokers Ranked
The 14 FCA-regulated brokers sit in score order.
Filter
Market
Experience
Priority
Visit buttons go to partner sites that may pay the site.
14 FCA-regulated UK spread betting brokers ranked by our score; spreads were read on 18 Sep 2026 and median fills come from 210 timed orders at FCA-regulated spread betting brokers between 18 and 27 August 2026.
#
Broker
Score /100
Avg spread, 9 pairs
EUR/USD
Median fill, ms
Min deposit
Platforms
Partner site
More
1
Pepperstone Our number one
Best overall. The only broker in our read publishing a spread betting average on nine pairs, for 1 to 31 August 2026, with betting on five platforms.
Full marks on four of the six scoring criteria, with Range Of Markets 9/10 and Customer Service 9/10, a 104ms median fill, and no inactivity fee. Pepperstone Spread Betting Review.
IG Index Limited holds FRN 114059 with a register status of Authorised since 1 Dec 2001. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.IG Markets Limited holds FRN 195355 with a register status of Authorised since 1 Dec 2001. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.
Score breakdown, six criteria
Trading Cost8/10
Trading Experience7/10
Trading Platform8/10
Trust10/10
Range Of Markets10/10
Customer Service9/101 service contact, 25 Aug 2026
Visit IG69% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
4
Capital.com
Joint fewest taps to trade. A three-tap path from login to a placed trade, with guaranteed stop-loss orders, 5,000+ markets and a £20 minimum deposit.
85out of 100
n/aNone published
n/a
121
£20
TradingViewOwn: Web platform, Mobile app
Visit Capital.com65% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
EUR/USD spread
n/a
Median fill
121 ms across 15 timed orders
Minimum deposit
£20
Guaranteed stops
Yes
Platforms
TradingView; Web platform, Mobile app (own platforms)
FCA regulated
Capital Com (UK) Limited (FRN 793714)
Retail accounts losing money
65%
Overnight financing
on indices, the benchmark rate (SONIA for GBP, SOFR for USD) plus or minus a daily fee of 4% a year
TF Global Markets (UK) Limited holds FRN 629628 with a register status of Authorised since 23 Jan 2015. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.
Score breakdown, six criteria
Trading Cost9/10
Trading Experience8/10
Trading Platform7/10
Trust9/10
Range Of Markets7/10
Customer Service9/101 service contact, 25 Aug 2026
Visit ThinkMarkets75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
6
StoneX Trading
Thousands of markets with GSLOs. StoneX Trading offers thousands of markets, guaranteed stop-losses, and spread betting via Web Trader, the StoneX app and TradingView.
80out of 100
n/a5 of 9 pairs
0.8
112
£0
TradingViewOwn: Web Trader, StoneX Trading app
Visit StoneX Trading68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
EUR/USD spread
0.8 points
Median fill
112 ms across 15 timed orders
Minimum deposit
£0
Guaranteed stops
Yes
Platforms
TradingView; Web Trader, StoneX Trading app (own platforms)
FCA regulated
StoneX Financial Ltd, trading as StoneX Trading (FRN 446717)
Retail accounts losing money
68%
Overnight financing
SONIA plus 3% on long positions, SONIA minus 3% on short positions
Inactivity fee
£12 a month once an account has been inactive for 12 months
TRADE NATION FINANCIAL UK LTD holds FRN 525164 with a register status of Authorised since 9 May 2011. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.
Score breakdown, six criteria
Trading Cost6/10
Trading Experience9/10
Trading Platform8/10
Trust7/10
Range Of Markets8/10
Customer Service9/101 service contact, 26 Aug 2026
Visit Trade Nation73.7% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
8
CMC Markets
Widest market range. Offers more than 330 forex pairs with a guaranteed-stop premium that is refunded if the stop is never hit.
75out of 100
n/aMinimums only
from 0.5
180
£0
4MT4Own: CMC web platform, CMC mobile app
Visit CMC Markets68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
EUR/USD spread
from 0.5 points
Median fill
180 ms across 15 timed orders
Minimum deposit
£0
Guaranteed stops
Yes
Platforms
MetaTrader 4; CMC web platform, CMC mobile app (own platforms)
FCA regulated
CMC Markets UK plc (FRN 173730)
Retail accounts losing money
68%
Overnight financing
shares and indices: the interbank rate (SONIA for GBP) plus 0.0082% on buy positions and minus 0.0082% on sell positions; FX: the tom-next rate plus or minus 0.0027%
Inactivity fee
£10 a month once an account has been dormant for one year
OANDA Europe Limited holds FRN 542574 with a register status of Authorised since 17 May 2011. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.
Score breakdown, six criteria
Trading Cost4/10
Trading Experience9/10
Trading Platform8/10
Trust10/10
Range Of Markets8/10
Customer Service5/101 service contact, 24 Aug 2026
Visit OANDA76.6% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
10
ActivTrades
Three platform choices. Publishes target spreads on all nine pairs but no average, so no nine-pair cost comparison; betting runs on ActivTrader, MT4 and MT5.
cash index, share and ETF spread bets: the 1-month interbank rate plus 3% on long and minus 3% on short positions (ActivTrades’ spread betting costs disclosure)
Inactivity fee
£10 a month once there has been no activity on the account for 18 months
Spread Co Limited holds FRN 446677 with a register status of Authorised since 6 Oct 2006. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.
Score breakdown, six criteria
Trading Cost3/10
Trading Experience3/10
Trading Platform4/10
Trust4/10
Range Of Markets7/10
Customer Service6/101 service contact, 27 Aug 2026
13
Vantage
900+ markets on MT4 and MT5. £50 minimum deposit with a demo account and 900+ markets, but no published spread figure; betting runs on MT4, MT5 and two more platforms.
40out of 100
n/aNone published
n/a
158
£50
45MT4, MT5Own: Vantage UK App, Vantage Web Trading
Visit Vantage70.98% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
EUR/USD spread
n/a
Median fill
158 ms across 15 timed orders
Minimum deposit
£50
Guaranteed stops
No
Platforms
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5; Vantage UK App, Vantage Web Trading (own platforms)
Vantage Global Prime LLP holds FRN 590299 with a register status of Authorised since 1 Jul 2013. We captured the entry on 3 Sep 2026.
Score breakdown, six criteria
Trading Cost2/10
Trading Experience4/10
Trading Platform5/10
Trust7/10
Range Of Markets1/10
Customer Service5/101 service contact, 27 Aug 2026
Visit Vantage70.98% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
14
FxPro
FxPro Edge platform and app. Its UK site states no minimum deposit, spread betting runs on FxPro Edge and the FxPro App, and no spread figure is published.
38out of 100
n/aNone published
n/a
153
Not stated
No third-party platformOwn: FxPro Edge, FxPro App
Visit FxPro75% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading spread bets and CFDs with this provider.
EUR/USD spread
n/a
Median fill
153 ms across 15 timed orders
Minimum deposit
Not stated
Guaranteed stops
No
Platforms
FxPro Edge, FxPro App (own platforms)
FCA regulated
FxPro UK Limited (FRN 509956)
Retail accounts losing money
75%
Inactivity fee
after 6 months without trading, a one-off USD 10 fee then USD 10 a month; live accounts are disabled after 3 months of inactivity
Beginner means a demo account we confirmed and a minimum deposit of £20 or less. Experienced means three or more of MT4, MT5, cTrader and TradingView. Lowest cost means a comparable published figure on all nine pairs we read, averaging under 1.79 points, which is the mean of the nine per-pair averages of the brokers that publish one, read on 18 Sep 2026. Guaranteed stops means the broker offers guaranteed stop-loss orders. TradingView means TradingView charting on the spread betting account. £0 deposit means no minimum deposit. Indices means an index count or index spread published on its own site. Shares means a share count or share dealing spread published on its own site. Gold means a gold spread published on its UK site. Every broker offers forex spread betting, so there is no forex chip. MT4 and MT5 are MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5.
The table is ordered by our overall score, not by any single measure listed below.
Pepperstone has the highest overall score in our table, at 97 out of 100.
Of the brokers in the table, only 2 publish a comparable average spread on all nine currency pairs we read, and of those, Pepperstone has the lowest average at 1.7 points.
OANDA recorded the fastest median fill time in our timed orders, at 88 milliseconds across 15 timed orders.
6 of the 14 brokers accept the lowest minimum first deposit, which is £0.
Further down this page you will find four firms that offer spread betting to UK retail clients but are not yet in our tests, and three brands that have stopped offering UK spread betting.
The percentage measures the share of a provider’s retail accounts that finished a reporting period down. It does not measure how much they lost, how long they held positions, or whether the same accounts lose every period. A provider at the low end of the table is not safer than one at the high end, because the figure describes that provider’s client base as much as its product.
Updated on 28 Sep 2026: The Customer Service mark is now computed from our support test under our published rule, and the overall scores and places on this page follow the recomputed marks. IG moves to third at 87/100, Capital.com to fourth at 85/100, Trade Nation to seventh at 78/100, CMC Markets to eighth at 75/100, OANDA to ninth at 73/100, ActivTrades to tenth at 65/100 and FXCM to eleventh at 60/100; Pepperstone stays first at 97/100. Each Customer Service mark now prints the number of contacts behind it, one per broker, and the date of the test. Pepperstone’s row sentence is corrected to full marks on four of the six criteria, and one sentence linking the Spread Bet UK home page was added after the paragraph on the timed orders.
Which Is The Best Spread Betting Platform For Beginners?
Our pick for the best spread betting platform for beginners is CMC Markets, the only Beginner filter broker with a published minimum stake and guaranteed stops. Our Beginner filter keeps 8 of the 14 brokers with demos and £20-or-lower deposits.
Choose a broker. Choose an FCA-regulated broker from our ranked table and check its FRN on the FCA Register. Verifying the FRN confirms the firm is authorised.
Open an account. Open your account and pass identity verification and the broker’s appropriateness test. The test covers your experience and understanding of leveraged products, as FCA rules require.
Fund the account. Fund the account with a first deposit, starting small to limit your exposure. The deposit must cover the margin requirement (3.33% for major currency pairs) plus room for the stop.
Size your first bet. Pick one market you follow and size the stake per point so a stop being hit costs a fixed small share of your account. Use the position size calculator directly below this step to turn your account size, the share of it you will risk and your stop distance into a stake per point. A stop-loss closes your position when the market reaches a set level.
Stake per point from your risk
Turn a money risk and a stop distance into a stake
Risk on this bet
Daily range window: 20 trading days to 28 Aug 2026
Risking £50.00(1% of £5,000) with a 40-point stop on GBP/USD gives a stake of £1.25 per point. If the stop is hit you lose £50, though a normal stop can fill beyond its level if the market gaps.
Stop 40 points
Average daily range 57.9 points
02957.9
The 40-point stop is 69% of GBP/USD's average daily range, measured at 57.9 points over the 20 trading days to 28 Aug 2026. The same £50 risk with a stop the full width of that range is a stake of £0.86 per point.
Range is the average daily high-to-low over the stated window, from our dataset of daily bars (5pm New York day boundary). The calculator rounds the stake down to the nearest £0.01, so the risk figure is never exceeded. A stake below a provider's minimum bet cannot be placed. A guaranteed stop holds the loss at exactly the stop for a premium; a normal stop can fill beyond it in a gap.
We hold no measured daily-range dataset for this market, so no range comparison renders. The calculator rounds the stake down to the nearest £0.01, so the risk figure is never exceeded. A stake below a provider's minimum bet cannot be placed. A guaranteed stop holds the loss at exactly the stop for a premium; a normal stop can fill beyond it in a gap.
Place the bet. Place the bet with a stop-loss attached. Use a guaranteed stop where your broker offers one, for the premium the broker states.
Manage and close. Check the position daily and note any overnight funding charge on a position held past the broker’s cut-off time. The charge varies by broker and market. Close the bet at your planned exit level, not on emotion.
What Is The Smallest Spread Bet You Can Place?
Four of the 14 providers we track publish a minimum stake on their own UK sites: Spreadex, IG, CMC Markets and Spread Co. The smallest published figure is £0.01 per point. The other 10 state nothing, so the answer for those accounts is whatever the platform accepts on the day, and the only way to find out is to ask them before you fund it.
How Much Does Spread Betting Cost?
The spread is the cost of the bet, so the board below is the pricing picture: the spread betting figure each broker publishes on the nine pairs we track, in points except where marked in pips, from our 18 Sep 2026 read. The average for EUR/USD across the five brokers that publish a comparable figure is 0.7 points, and the mean of the nine per-pair averages is 1.79 points.
Overnight funding is a daily charge or credit applied to a spread bet held past the broker’s cut-off, set as a rate above or below an interest-rate benchmark (StoneX Trading publishes SONIA plus 3% on long positions, SONIA minus 3% on short positions). Work out the cost for your own position with the overnight funding calculator.
Spread figures each broker publishes for spread betting on 9 currency pairs, as read on 18 Sep 2026. Minimums and targets are marked. The final rows give the average across the brokers publishing each figure and how many brokers it covers.
Broker
EUR/USD
GBP/USD
EUR/GBP
USD/JPY
AUD/USD
USD/CAD
AUD/JPY
EUR/JPY
USD/SGD
Avg
1. Pepperstone
0.5, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.9, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.9, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.8, level with the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.7, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1.2, tighter than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
1.9, tighter than the average of the 3 brokers publishing one
2.1, wider than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
6.3, level with the average of the 3 brokers publishing one
1.7, tighter than the mean of the nine per-pair averages
2. Spreadex
from 0.6
from 0.9
from 0.9
from 0.7
from 0.6
from 1.3
from 1.3
from 1.5
from 2.5
3. IG
0.85, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1.4, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1.4, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.94, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.82, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1.77, wider than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
1.97, wider than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
4.7, tighter than the average of the 3 brokers publishing one
4. Capital.com
5. ThinkMarkets
1.1 pips target
1.1 pips target
1 pips target
1.4 pips target
1.2 pips target
1.2 pips target
1.4 pips target
1.4 pips target
1.8 pips target
6. StoneX Trading
0.8, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1.8, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1.7, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.8, level with the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.9, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
7. Trade Nation
0.5, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.8, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.5, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.6, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.4, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
0.7, tighter than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
1, tighter than the average of the 3 brokers publishing one
0.7, tighter than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
8. CMC Markets
from 0.5
from 0.9
from 0.7
from 0.7
from 0.6
from 1.3
9. OANDA
from 0.6 pips
10. ActivTrades
0.5 pips target
0.8 pips target
0.8 pips target
0.5 pips target
0.6 pips target
1 pips target
1 pips target
1 pips target
2.2 pips target
11. FXCM
12. Spread Co
0.8, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1, tighter than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
1, wider than the average of the 5 brokers publishing one
2.5, wider than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
3, wider than the average of the 3 brokers publishing one
2, wider than the average of the 4 brokers publishing one
8, wider than the average of the 3 brokers publishing one
2.26, wider than the mean of the nine per-pair averages
13. Vantage
14. FxPro
Average of brokers publishing one
0.7
1.2
1.1
0.8
0.8
1.5
2
1.7
6.3
1.79
Brokers in the average
5
5
5
5
5
4
3
4
3
Green cells are tighter than the average of the brokers publishing a comparable figure for that pair and red cells are wider, with the same words in each cell for anyone the colour does not reach. The board shows the spread figure each broker publishes for spread betting (average, typical or fixed; minimums and targets are marked as such), read from each broker’s UK website and re-read monthly, last read on 18 Sep 2026; all spreads are in points except those marked in pips.
A spread betting account is also worth distinguishing from a CFD account, which most of these providers offer alongside it. The mechanics are close cousins, but spread betting profits are currently free of UK capital gains tax for most UK retail traders, while CFD profits are not. Tax treatment depends on individual circumstances and can change.
How Fast Is Spread Bet Execution?
We timed 210 live orders at 14 FCA-regulated spread betting brokers between 18 and 27 August 2026. OANDA had the fastest median fill, 88ms. Fill speed matters because price movements between the moment an order is sent and the moment it fills change the price the bet opens or closes at.
The timed-order test and the monthly spread read are original data published by Spread Bet UK, the independent UK site on financial spread betting.
Median and ninetieth-percentile fill times in milliseconds for each of the 14 brokers, fastest median first, with the number of orders timed and the number requoted or rejected
Timed on live funded accounts, EUR/USD and FTSE 100, 18 to 27 August 2026. Every cell is computed from the published dataset.
We placed 15 live orders per broker on funded spread betting accounts. The test used EUR/USD and the FTSE 100 with market opens, closes, stop triggers, and limit fills. Timings came from each platform’s own order log and trade history. In total, 10 of the 210 orders were requoted or rejected. The full protocol sits on our methodology page and the raw dataset on our statistics page.
Which Spread Betting Brokers Offer Guaranteed Stop-Loss Orders?
8 of the 14 ranked brokers offer guaranteed stop-loss orders (GSLOs): Spreadex, IG, Capital.com, StoneX Trading, Trade Nation, CMC Markets, OANDA and Spread Co.
Guaranteed stop-loss order availability for each ranked UK spread betting broker
8 of the 14 offer guaranteed stop-loss orders, 5 have confirmed they do not, and 1 have not confirmed either way, so we leave them unmarked rather than guess. Every row was confirmed with the broker or against its published terms between 24 and 27 Aug 2026, and the Checked column carries the later of that contact and our own last reading of the provider’s own page.
StoneX Trading, OANDA, Capital.com and IG charge a premium only if the stop is actually triggered, so an untouched GSLO costs nothing. CMC Markets charges the premium when you place the order and refunds it if the stop is never hit. ThinkMarkets added guaranteed stops to its ThinkTrader platform on 11 Feb 2026. Its UK pages describe them for CFD trades and do not say its spread betting account carries them, so it is not in the list.
A spread betting broker supplies the platform, the price feed and the execution behind every bet. Which suits a retail trader depends on trading style. Active traders weigh spreads and fill speed most, while less frequent traders weigh the minimum deposit, guaranteed stops and platform.
Spreads. The full cost board above shows all 14 accounts we track.
Customer service. Test the live chat before you commit real money. Between 24 and 27 August 2026 we asked all 14 brokers a question about guaranteed stop-loss orders through each firm’s primary support channel. Live chat responses arrived in 2 to 7 minutes across the eight brokers we contacted that way; the two phone calls were answered in 2 and 3 minutes. Email replies were slower: 96 minutes (FxPro), 171 minutes (Vantage), 214 minutes (OANDA) and 386 minutes (FXCM). Thirteen questions were resolved. Spread Co’s request for its guaranteed-stop market list remained unresolved when our test window closed. On 27 August 2026 we requested withdrawals from all 14 brokers. None charged a fee. Twelve withdrawals arrived by 29 August. Capital.com’s card refund landed the same day; nine others arrived the next working day. FxPro and Spread Co had not arrived as of 30 August 2026. Spreadex quoted £25 for an optional same-day CHAPS transfer; our standard free transfer arrived the next working day.
Trading platforms. 8 of the 14 offer MetaTrader 4, eight offer TradingView, three offer MetaTrader 5 and one offers cTrader, while 14 run software of their own. The ranked table above shows every combination. Our ranking of the Best Spread Betting Apps In The UK takes the mobile side on its own terms. Eight of the 14 hold a place in that app order, and the others are ranked on the broker alone.
Minimum deposits. Six of the 14 brokers ask for no minimum deposit at all. Spreadex asks £5, Pepperstone £10, Capital.com £20, FXCM and Vantage £50, and IG £250. Whatever the minimum, fund enough to keep clear of margin calls once you are trading. Open a demo before you fund anything. Some brokers publish nothing about a demo account, which is why Best Spread Betting Demo Account UK records what each provider states.
Regulation. The broker you choose must be regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, and every broker in this ranking is, with its FCA entity and reference number shown when its row in the ranked table above is opened. The same rule applies to forex and CFD trading, and our sister site CompareForexBrokers keeps a best forex broker UK list.
Match A Broker To How You Trade
Four questions, answered from the same data as our ranking. The order never changes; the questions only narrow the list.
With no preferences set, all 14 accounts in our ranking qualify, in our published order.
Every ranked broker with the four fields the matcher filters on: platforms, minimum opening deposit, guaranteed stop-loss orders and demo account, in our published order. An empty cell is a value the broker does not publish and we have not verified.
MetaTrader 4, TradingView, Web-based platform, Mobile trading app, ProRealTime
£250
Available
Available
4
Capital.com
85/100
TradingView, Web platform, Mobile app
£20
Available
Available
5
ThinkMarkets
82/100
MetaTrader 4, TradingView, ThinkTrader
£0
Available
6
StoneX Trading
80/100
TradingView, Web Trader, StoneX Trading app
£0
Available
Available
7
Trade Nation
78/100
TradingView, TN Trader
£0
Available
Available
8
CMC Markets
75/100
MetaTrader 4, CMC web platform, CMC mobile app
£0
Available
Available
9
OANDA
73/100
TradingView, MetaTrader 4, OANDA web, OANDA mobile
£0
Available
Available
10
ActivTrades
65/100
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, ActivTrader
£0
Not offered
Available
11
FXCM
60/100
MetaTrader 4, Trading Station
£50
Not offered
Available
12
Spread Co
45/100
SATURN Trading platform, Spread Co mobile and tablet app
Available
Available
13
Vantage
40/100
MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, Vantage UK App, Vantage Web Trading
£50
Not offered
Available
14
FxPro
38/100
FxPro Edge, FxPro App
Not offered
The matcher filters, it does not score. The order is the score already published on each broker's review, and a broker leaves the list only because an answer you gave rules it out. An empty cell is a value the broker does not publish and we have not verified, and a filter on that question leaves that broker out.
Capital at risk when spread betting.
How Do You Open A Spread Betting Account In The UK?
We opened live funded accounts with all 14 brokers between 10 and 14 August 2026.
Also Offering Spread Betting To UK Clients, Not Yet Tested
Each firm offers financial spread betting to UK retail clients on its UK website, read on 24 Sep 2026, with an FCA Register entry. We have not opened accounts or timed orders with them, so they sit outside our ranking without a score. The loss figure shown is the firm’s own published figure.
Not yet tested: 4 firms, their FCA Register entry and their own published loss figure
Firm
FCA entity and FRN
Register status
Retail accounts losing money
Axi
Axi Financial Services (UK) Limited (FRN 466201)
Authorised
72.47%, CFDs
Intertrader
Alvar Financial Services Limited (FRN 597312)
EEA Authorised (UK branch of a Gibraltar firm)
50.8%, spread bets and CFDs
Accendo Markets
Accendo Markets Limited (FRN 475285)
Authorised
69%, spread bets and CFDs
FOREX.com
StoneX Financial Ltd (FRN 446717)
Authorised
74%, CFDs
Intertrader’s FCA Register entry is the UK branch of Alvar Financial Services Limited, a Gibraltar firm regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission. It is not a UK authorisation.
FOREX.com is a trading name of StoneX Financial Ltd, the firm behind StoneX Trading, which we rank.
Which Brokers No Longer Offer UK Spread Betting?
Three brands in our reviews directory offered UK spread betting and stopped. Two of them are the same business under different names.
Markets.com no longer offers UK spread betting. The withdrawal by Finalto Financial Services Limited covered retail clients, and the Markets.com brand itself. The notice carries no date.
ETX Capital no longer offers UK spread betting. Monecor (London) Limited ran the business, which traded as TradIndex, then ETX Capital, then OvalX. Clients were offered the chance to move their accounts to Capital.com.
OvalX was the same Monecor (London) Limited business under its final name, so the closure and the transfer offer above are the same events.
Most searched spread betting platforms in the UK
In August 2026, Spreadex was the most searched of the 14 FCA-regulated spread betting platforms we test, on 40,980 branded
Google searches from the UK. Popular is not the same as best: the ranking above scores each platform on what it offers;
this table measures how many people in the UK looked for each brand.
Brand searches, all 14 platforms
122,970August 2026, -4.0% vs July
Most searched
Spreadex33.3% of all searches
Biggest riser (1,000+ searches)
Capital.com+49.1% vs July
FCA-regulated spread betting platforms we test, ranked by branded Google searches from the UK in August 2026
#
Name
Brand searches per month
Login searches
vs July
12 months
1
Spreadex
40,980
12,240
-0.3%
2
OANDA
22,490
390
+0.1%
3
IG
15,580
1,900
+19.4%
4
CMC Markets
12,340
880
-45.1%
5
Pepperstone
9,130
1,000
+19.5%
6
Vantage
7,490
1,280
+18.9%
7
Trade Nation
3,230
880
0.0%
8
Capital.com
2,610
350
+49.1%
9
StoneX Trading
2,470
920
-17.1%
10
ActivTrades
2,160
100
-0.5%
Show all 14 platforms
Ranked 11 to 14 by branded Google searches from the UK in August 2026
#
Name
Brand searches per month
11
FxPro
1,610
12
FXCM
1,380
13
Spread Co
960
14
ThinkMarkets
540
Source: Google search volume, the UK, August 2026.
How this is measured
Google Ads reports how many times a month people in the UK searched each platform’s brand terms, and the platforms are ranked on that figure alone.
A term counts for a platform only when that platform’s own website holds the first organic Google result for it in the UK; bare brand words that any company could own are left out.
A month-on-month change prints only where the previous month reached 1,000 searches, because Google rounds smaller volumes.
The figures are Google’s for August 2026, read on 15 September 2026, and the first-result check was run on 3 September 2026.
Watch: our video review
Our video review, published 31 December 2025, covers Pepperstone, Spreadex and ThinkMarkets, including FCA regulation, spreads and platform quality.
From the Spread Bet UK YouTube channel, where we publish our video reviews of UK spread betting accounts.
FAQs
Which UK Brokers Offer Spread Betting?
We rank 14 FCA-regulated brokers that offer UK spread betting, and these five score highest in our September 2026 comparison:
Pepperstone: The Best Spread Betting Platform In The UK (a spread betting average on all nine pairs).
Spreadex: guaranteed stop-losses available.
IG: Range Of Markets To Spread Bet.
Capital.com: Joint Fewest Taps From Login To Trade (guaranteed stop-losses available).
ThinkMarkets: Best Spread Bet Demo Account (runs ThinkTrader, MT4 and TradingView).
All 14 are ranked in full further up this page, from Pepperstone down to FxPro.
Three brands readers often ask about, Trading 212, AvaTrade and Admirals, do not offer a UK spread betting account, because Trading 212 and Admirals offer no spread betting product and AvaTrade has no UK entity.
Pepperstone publishes a spread betting average on all nine pairs. It is one of only two accounts of the 14 we read with a comparable figure on every pair (the other is Spread Co, which publishes fixed spreads). Against the average of the brokers that publish one, it is under on six pairs, level on two and over on EUR/JPY. Trade Nation publishes a fixed spread on eight of the nine pairs and is under the average on every one of those eight, in our 18 Sep 2026 read.
The wide end of the 18 Sep 2026 read puts USD/SGD widest at an average of 6.3 points across 3 brokers. Of the two complete accounts, Spread Co holds the wider nine-pair average at 2.26 points. The statistics page lists the widest spreads in the same read beside every pair and account.
Each of the 14 has a full write-up of its own, and those sit alongside the brokers that have stopped offering spread betting in our spread betting broker reviews directory.
Justin Grossbard co-founded Spread-Bet.co.uk with Noam Korbl in 2024, and co-founded the broker comparison network CompareForexBrokers with him in 2014. He has written for Kiplinger, Entrepreneur, Finance Magnates and MoneyShow since 2022, with articles on forex and trading at MoneyShow, Finance Magnates and Kiplinger.
Change history: 13 earlier dated notes
Updated on 24 Sep 2026: we recomputed every score on the site as the sum of the six criterion marks, each out of 10, divided by 60 and multiplied by 100, rounded half up, with no criterion weighted, and the ranking follows the scores, with brokers on the same score sharing a place. OANDA moved from 91 to 80 and now shares sixth place with StoneX Trading, and FxPro moved from 57 to 30 and is now 14th. The labels are now each taken from the measure they name: best overall is Pepperstone (highest score), widest market range is CMC Markets (the largest market count a broker publishes, 21,000), best for beginners is Spreadex (the beginners rule), and joint fewest taps to trade is Capital.com and Trade Nation (our app test). We removed the "best app" label because no measure we hold decides it. We corrected the row notes for OANDA, IG and ThinkMarkets: OANDA states no minimum stake, IG’s minimum deposit is £250, and ThinkMarkets’ guaranteed stops are not counted for spread bets. In the guaranteed stop list ThinkMarkets is no longer included and Trade Nation now is. The opening paragraph now names Pepperstone, ranked first at 98/100, as the only broker in our spread read that publishes a spread betting average on all nine pairs, and says to check the account is with Pepperstone Limited, FRN 684312. We removed the 14 broker cards. Each row of the ranked table now opens to show the broker’s FCA register entry, its overnight financing and inactivity fee where it publishes them, and a link to its full review, and every row shows these details with JavaScript off. Spread Co’s row shows that its fixed spreads apply to bets of up to £50 a point. We removed the timed-order summary above the table; the full results remain in the execution section, which now comes before the section on guaranteed stops. A new list shows four firms not yet in our tests, with each firm’s FCA entity, register status and published loss figure. Three FAQ questions were removed and are now linked to the pages that answer them. The opening paragraph now states the evidence beside Pepperstone’s score, the 210 live orders we timed at the FCA-regulated spread betting brokers between 18 and 27 August 2026. Its last sentence now asks readers to check any broker’s firm name and FRN on the FCA register before depositing, with Pepperstone Limited as the example. The ranked table has a shorter heading, a one-line introduction, and a caption that states the test window. The top picks now sit in a list under the table. Our beginners page is now a section below the ranked table, and its old address redirects here. The section names our beginners pick, Spreadex, with the rule that picks it. Its linked Beginner filter keeps 8 of the 14 brokers with a demo account we confirmed and a minimum deposit of £20 or less. The old page’s six steps to a first bet, stake-per-point calculator and smallest spread bet answer carry over. Our link on opening an account now goes there. Our beginners pick is now CMC Markets, where it was Spreadex. Our pick comes from the Beginner filter’s brokers, those with a confirmed demo and a deposit of £20 or less, ranked by published minimum stake and then by guaranteed stops. When we read Spreadex’s own UK site on 24 Sep 2026, it did not state a demo, and the filter does not show it.
Updated on 23 Sep 2026: Account-opening and approval times were removed, as these are no longer published anywhere on the site, along with a large amount of repeated and unsourced text. Added notes that ETX Capital no longer offers UK spread betting and that OvalX was the same Monecor business, plus corrected tax wording on capital gains and loss offsetting. The video review and withdrawal test descriptions were reworded, and broker cards were trimmed.
Updated on 22 Sep 2026: Each broker’s platform list, minimum deposit, overnight financing and inactivity fee were re-read at the broker’s own UK pages. Spreadex’s minimum deposit now reads £5 where it read £0, so seven of the 14 brokers now ask for no minimum deposit, where the page said eight. FxPro’s and Spread Co’s UK sites state no minimum deposit, so both now read "not stated" where they read £100 and £50. An average drawn from the brokers that publish one is now named as such.
Updated on 22 Sep 2026: the opening sentence now gives the test window as 18 to 27 August 2026 instead of the month, and describes the 14 brokers as FCA-regulated, the wording the rest of the site uses for the same test. No score, rank or figure changed.
Updated on 21 Sep 2026: the binary options FAQ asks whether UK retail clients can trade binary options and links the options page, which answers the first question. The claims that spread bets have no expiry date and that binary options ran 5 minutes to 24 hours are removed. The spread FAQ adds the read’s wide end with Spread Co and links the statistics page. The slippage link opens at the results table. No score, rank, spread or loss figure changed.
Updated on 21 Sep 2026: The opening sentence now names financial spread betting and describes it as a leveraged bet staked in pounds per point. No score, rank or figure changed.
Updated 19 Sep 2026. The opening now leads with the 210 live orders we timed and gives Pepperstone’s score, median fill and minimum deposit. Pepperstone’s published August 2026 spreads are compared with the average of the brokers that publish one in the costs section and the FAQ. An evidence strip below lists the top five brokers’ timed results. Broker cards show FCA register entries captured on 3 September 2026. A table of approval times from our August 2026 account-opening test now sits under the section on opening an account, and a broker matcher now sits under choosing a broker. Every spread average on the page now states how many brokers it covers. The answer on which brokers offer spread betting names three brands that do not. No score, rank or spread figure changed.
Updated 18 Sep 2026. Spread figures now come from our own read of each broker’s UK site, with the kind of each figure recorded. Averages cover only average, typical and fixed figures, and each shows the number of brokers behind it. No score or rank changed.
Rebuilt on 6 Sep 2026. The ranked list and comparison table were merged into a single table with the same filters and sorting. Each row expands to show the broker’s FCA entity, the share of retail accounts losing money, guaranteed-stop status and its score across our six criteria. The number one pick card and Top Picks cards were removed; the top pick is now the highlighted first row with a reason sentence. No figure changed.
Updated 6 Sep 2026. A sentence about the tightest nine-pair average used to say it was the tightest of the thirteen that publish one. No broker publishes a nine-pair average; we compute it from each account’s harvest row, and the sentence now says the tightest of the accounts in our harvest. Also on 5 Sep 2026: AvaTrade, Admirals and Markets.com left the harvest because a UK reader cannot open a spread betting account with any of them. On 5 Sep 2026 the nine-pair average moved from 1.74 to 1.7 points, the USD/SGD average row moved from 3.6 to 3.2 points, and the cost board went from sixteen accounts to thirteen. No broker’s own spread figure, score or rank changed.
Rebuilt on 3 Sep 2026 onto the site’s new design: a navy band carries the answer with the number one pick beside it, a row of jump chips replaces the sticky contents bar, and the section that restated the opening paragraph is gone. No figure changed.
slimmed on 2 Sep 2026. The fourteen per-broker sections, which restated each broker’s own review, are fourteen information cards with every figure rendered from our data. The ranked table gained a median-fill column, its sort and filter controls are now built by the page’s script rather than shipped switched off, and the ranking video sits directly after it. The cost, how-to-choose and markets sections are a board, a list and a list; the leverage, risk and pros-and-cons sections are one link each to the page that owns the answer; the FAQ is six entries; the software and loss tables are gone because every ranked row shows its platforms and every card its loss percentage. No score, rank, spread or loss figure changed.
30 Aug 2026, support, account-opening and withdrawal tests added, and timed execution across 210 live orders placed between 18 and 27 August 2026, which put OANDA first at 88ms; 26 Aug 2026, every average spread corrected to cover all nine pairs. Spreads come from our 18 Sep 2026 data.